Invest in Russia — invest in Russian regions!
All analytics

Leaders Wanted. Masters of Change at a Moment of Truth

Research
25 May 2021

The study by Accenture is focused on leadership and technology trends, with an added emphasis on challenges faced by leaders because of the coronavirus pandemic.

The Roscongress Foundation presents the salient points of the publication accompanied by fragments of broadcasts of relevant panel discussions from the business programme of international events held by the Roscongress Foundation.

The pandemic has accelerated the formation of technology leadership.

Rapid digital acceleration during the pandemic has cemented technology as the cornerstone of global leadership. The gap between digital leaders and laggards grows by the day and committing to a wait-and-see approach will land companies on the wrong side of that gap. Leadership demands that enterprises prioritize technology innovation in response to a radically changing world. This is why 90% of business and IT executives surveyed by Accenture agree that to be agile and resilient, their organizations need to fast forward their digital transformation with cloud at its core.

The difficulties faced by leaders because of the pandemic sped up technology trends. And what started as an attempt to solve immediate problems during the pandemic has quickly become an opportunity to rapidly re-platform the enterprise and become an industry leader. For example, despite the collapse in the restaurant industry (with losses estimated at $240 billion), Starbucks managed to emerge as a leader.

Starbucks had a digital transformation well underway by 2020, and when the pandemic hit, that transformation evolved from a strategic initiative to a vital airbag. The company’s mobile app proved invaluable as contactless transactions rapidly became the norm. By August, three million new users had downloaded the app, and mobile ordering and drive-thru pick up combined accounted for 90 percent of sales. Starbucks used technology to reinvent its customer experience for a changed world, and when demand surged, it doubled down.

Video: https://roscongress.org/sessions/vliyanie-pandemii-na-razvitie-tsifrovykh-tekhnologiy-v-rossii/search/#00:49:31.160

Now’s the time to rebuild the world better than it was before the pandemic, concentrating on sustainable development, the impact left on the environment, growing inclusivity, and more.

Even prior the pandemic leaders have been widening their vision of who their stakeholders are and ingraining those commitments into the fabric of their business. For example, in light of protests that brought awareness to racial inequality, Walmart underwent an audit of its diversity and hiring practice, prioritized relationships with minority-owned suppliers, and committed $100 million to establishing a center for racial equity.

With their accelerated digital transformations, enterprises can attack some of the deepest-set challenges the world faces. As efforts like sustainability and conscientious consumption become top initiatives, technology offers a foundation from which to achieve those goals.

When buying a product, the customer is now able to see its full production history. It’s possible to guarantee that sustainable material was used in the packaging, confirm the absence of allergens, be assured of ethical practices in production, and more. In the past, providing this level of visibility for any and every product would have seemed far-fetched. But emerging technology solutions are making it increasingly feasible, allowing companies to build trust with customers in unprecedented ways.

The authors of the report note that companies are no longer strictly competing for market share; they are competing to build their vision of the future, and financial success will only be one measure of leadership. Success will depend on their ability to accelerate and master change in all parts of their business, which in turn will be a direct function of the technology decisions they make today.

Video: https://roscongress.org/sessions/spief-2019-kadrovoe-obespechenie-perekhoda-k-ekonomike-budushchego-/search/#00:45:06.431

There are five technology trends for 2021 stemming from the effects of the pandemic and rapid technological change.

Accenture identifies five technology trends for 2021:

1. A new era of industry competition is dawning—one where companies compete on their architecture.

2. Growing investments in data, AI, and digital twin technologies are giving rise to a new generation of business and intelligence.

3. Natural language processing, low-code platforms, robotic process automation, and more are democratizing technology, putting powerful capabilities into the hands of people all across the business.

4. After the pandemic, it’s time for enterprises to transform remote work from an accommodation, to an advantage.

5. The global disruption of COVID-19 ignited a scramble for enterprises to reimagine their partnerships—and multiparty systems gained newfound attention.

Video: https://roscongress.org/sessions/spief-2019-tekhnologicheskiy-ryvok-i-kompetentsii-xxi-veka-formirovanie-ekosistem-dlya-obespecheniya-tekhnologi/search/#00:53:33.567

For more information about possible ways to stabilize the economy during the pandemic, see the StayHomeEconomy section of the Roscongress Information and Analytical System, and the Digitalization, Labor Market, and Sustainable Development sections about digital technologies and related changes in the labor market and society.


Anlytics on the topic

All analytics
Research
13 April 2020
Covid-19: SME Policy Responses

This publication studies the effect of the coronavirus pandemic on SMEs and reviews measures introduced in various countries to support SMEs in the present situation.

Research
19 March 2018
The State of Fashion 2018

McKinsey & Company and The Business of Fashion (BoF) present their second annual report which explores and analyzes the global fashion industry, based on the main issues and opportunities that stimulate the development of the sector. The report covers topics which are expected to be the most discussed among business and creative leaders in 2018.

Articles
14 October 2020
The impacts of COVID-19 on the space industry

As part of the digitalization of the economy, satellite signals and data play an increasingly pivotal role in economic development. However, with the COVID-19 crisis, this positive trend could be reversed. There is a risk that the crisis could lead to more industry concentration, eliminating smaller and younger firms.

Articles
28 April 2020
Sensing and Shaping the Post-COVID Era

COVID-19 and the containment policies aimed at controlling it have changed how we work and what we consume. History shows that such changes are not always temporary—crises can fundamentally reshape our beliefs and behaviors. How then can companies prepare for a postcrisis world, rather than hunkering down and waiting for a return to the past?

Инвестируй в Россию — инвестируй в регионы!
Вся аналитика

Требуются лидеры. Мастерство перемен в момент истины

Исследования
25 мая 2021

В исследовании, подготовленном компанией Accenture, рассматриваются тренды, связанные с лидерством и технологиями. Отдельный акцент сделан на вызовах, которые поставила перед лидерами пандемия коронавируса.

Аналитики Фонда Росконгресс выделили основные тезисы данного исследования, сопроводив каждый из них подходящим по теме фрагментом видеотрансляций панельных дискуссий, состоявшихся в рамках деловых программ ключевых мероприятий, проведенных Фондом.

Пандемия ускорила развитие технологического лидерства.

Быстрое цифровое ускорение во время пандемии закрепило технологии в качестве важнейшего фактора глобального лидерства. Разрыв между цифровыми лидерами и отстающими растет с каждым днем, и приверженность выжидательному подходу приведет к тому, что компании могут сильно отстать технологически. Лидерство требует, чтобы предприятия уделяли приоритетное внимание технологическим инновациям в ответ на радикально меняющийся мир. Так, 90% руководителей компаний и IT-специалистов, участвовавших в опросе Accenture, согласны, что для того, чтобы быть гибкими и устойчивыми, их организациям необходимо ускорить цифровую трансформацию, в основе которой лежат облачные технологии.

Пандемия также поставила перед лидерами насущные проблемы, которые ускорили технологические тенденции. И то, что началось как попытка справиться с вызовами пандемии, быстро превратилось в возможность перестроить предприятие и стать лидером отрасли. Так, несмотря на кризис ресторанной индустрии (потери оцениваются в 240 миллиардов долларов), компания Starbucks смогла укрепить свои позиции в отрасли.

К 2020 году в Starbucks уже полным ходом шла цифровая трансформация, и когда началась пандемия, эта трансформация превратилась из стратегической инициативы в жизненно важную подушку безопасности. Мобильное приложение компании развивалось с популяризацией бесконтактной оплаты, и к августу оно было загружено тремя миллионами новых пользователей, а на мобильные заказы и доставку через интернет в совокупности приходилось 90 процентов продаж. Starbucks использовала технологии, чтобы заново создать свой клиентский опыт для изменившегося мира, — и спрос вырос.

Видео: https://roscongress.org/sessions/vliyanie-pandemii-na-razvitie-tsifrovykh-tekhnologiy-v-rossii/search/#00:49:31.160

Сейчас появилась возможность сделать мир лучше, чем до пандемии, и сосредоточить внимание на вопросах устойчивого развития, воздействия на окружающую среду, инклюзивности.

Еще до пандемии лидеры начали расширять свое представление об интересах и потребностях самых разных заинтересованных сторон своего бизнеса — клиентов, инвесторов, акционеров — и внедрять такие обязательства в структуру своего бизнеса. Например, в свете протестов против расовой дискриминации, которые привели к осознанию расового неравенства, компания Walmart провела аудит своей инклюзивности и практик найма, уделила приоритетное внимание отношениям с поставщиками, принадлежащим меньшинствам, и выделила 100 миллионов долларов на создание центра расового равенства.

С ускорением цифровых преобразований предприятия могут приложить все усилия для решения некоторых из самых сложных проблем, с которыми сталкивается мир. Поскольку такие усилия, как устойчивое развитие и ответственное потребление, становятся главными инициативами, технологии обеспечивают основу для достижения этих целей.

Теперь покупатель может узнать полную историю производства продукта, понимать, что в упаковке был использован экологически чистый материал, подтвердить отсутствие аллергенов, быть уверенным в соблюдении этических норм при производстве и многое другое. В прошлом обеспечение такого уровня прозрачности для любого продукта казалось невозможным. Но новые технологические решения делают его все более выполнимым, позволяя компаниям строить доверительные отношения с клиентами.

В исследовании отмечается, что компании больше не конкурируют строго за долю рынка; они конкурируют за построение нового будущего, а финансовый успех будет лишь одним из показателей лидерства. Успех будет зависеть от их способности ускорять и осваивать изменения во всех частях своего бизнеса, что, в свою очередь, будет напрямую зависеть от технологических решений, которые они принимают сегодня.

Видео: https://roscongress.org/sessions/spief-2019-kadrovoe-obespechenie-perekhoda-k-ekonomike-budushchego-/search/#00:45:06.431

Выделяются пять технологических трендов на 2021 год, связанных с последствиями пандемии и развитием технологий.

Авторы исследования выделяют пять технологических трендов на 2021 год:

1. Наступает новая эра отраслевой конкуренции, когда компании конкурируют за лидерство в формировании будущего.

2. Растут инвестиции в данные, искусственный интеллект и цифровые технологии, что порождает новое поколение бизнеса и интеллекта.

3. Происходит обработка естественного языка, развитие платформ с низким уровнем кода, роботизированная автоматизация процессов и многое другое, что демократизирует технологии, давая мощные возможности в руки людей в бизнесе.

4. После пандемии предприятия превращают удаленную работу из удобства в преимущество.

5. Предприятия переосмысливают свои партнерские отношения из-за пандемии COVID-19, а фокус внимания сместился на многосторонние системы управления.

Видео: https://roscongress.org/sessions/spief-2019-tekhnologicheskiy-ryvok-i-kompetentsii-xxi-veka-formirovanie-ekosistem-dlya-obespecheniya-tekhnologi/search/#00:53:33.567

Также предлагаем вам ознакомиться с другими материалами, размещенными в специальных разделах Информационно-аналитической системы Росконгресс: СидимДомаЭкономика, посвященном возможным путям стабилизации экономики в условиях пандемии; а также Цифровизация, Рынок труда и Устойчивое развитие, которые посвящены цифровым технологиям и изменениям на рынке труда и в социальной сфере.


Аналитика на тему

Все аналитические материалы
Исследования
18 сентября 2019
Устойчивое развитие, зеленое строительство, энергоэффективность

Компания HPBS подготовила исследование, описывающее международный опыт и инструменты государственного стимулирования устойчивого развития, зеленого строительства и энергоэффективности.


Аналитические дайджесты
28 мая 2021
«Олимпийский» штамм коронавируса, новый метод выявления допинга и спортивный ПМЭФ

Фонд Росконгресс представляет дайджест новостей «Мировой спорт в условиях пандемии COVID-19» за период с 25 по 28 мая.

Статьи
22 мая 2018
Пять мыслей о блокчейне
Возможности технологии блокчейн гораздо шире, чем создание криптовалют. Ее внедрение позволит обеспечить экономический и технологический рывок в совершенно разных областях. И Россия может возглавить этот процесс. Так считает Владислав Мартынов, предприниматель, инвестор, глава центра компетенций Ethereum.

Аналитические дайджесты
2 мая 2020
COVID-2019: правовые риски и рекомендации для ведения бизнеса. Часть 4
Команда специальной рабочей группы по коронавирусу Адвокатского бюро «Егоров, Пугинский, Афанасьев и партнеры» представляет обновленное исследование правовых рисков и рекомендаций для ведения бизнеса в период пандемии COVID-19.