Invest in Russia — invest in Russian regions!
All analytics

InfraONE experts have identified 160 projects which, in their opinion, have a higher chance to be launched in the next three years. These projects comprise the National Infrastructure Projects Pipeline. The total investment in 160 projects in the list is RUB 4 trillion. Of these, RUB 3.98 trillion, i. e. 99.5%, will be spent on projects over RUB 1 billion, out of which about 10 projects (each costing over RUB 100 billion) will account for RUB 2.5 trillion (or 63% of the entire pipeline cost). InfraONE analysts don’t expect that all these megaprojects would be able to be launched in the next three years. Most likely, the authorities will choose three or four of them, as all the initiatives will require the state budget participation.

The segment of projects valued at RUB 10 billion — 100 billion includes 40 projects with a total investment of RUB 1.29 trillion. According to InfraONE, these projects will be the most attractive for financial investors, as the project volume in this case more frequently provides return on investment within a reasonable time. Less than a quarter of the projects in the national pipeline — only 18.1% — are ready for launch: these are 29 projects amounting to RUB 1.2 trillion. But even among those, over half of the money is accounted for by two megaprojects: construction of the Moscow — Kazan high-speed highway section and transfer of Domodedovo airport under concession. The launch of these projects is complicated because of the vast volume. The pipeline includes more projects worth over RUB 1 billion — 96 projects, and there are only 64 initiatives in segment of medium-size projects (worth RUB 100 million to 1 billion). Projects from the latter one are prepared mainly by the regions and municipalities, but in the end, these initiatives hold no interest for major financial participants and other qualified players; thus their development quality remains mediocre.

The national list of promising projects is traditionally led by the transport industry — 55 projects require 93.4% of investments (RUB 3.7 trillion), and most of the investments are planned in railways and roads: RUB 1.53 trillion and RUB 1.52 trillion, respectively. There are three promising projects in railways, while in roads there are 35. InfraONE analysts believe that the transport preponderance will remain due to the high project cost and the special attention of the authorities to the industry because of the goals set by the Presidential May Decree.

Most of the relatively developed projects are scheduled for launch in the North-Western Federal District — 33 projects over RUB 400 billion. However the Central Federal District is traditionally the leader in the investment volume: 25 of its projects involve investments of about RUB 1.3 trillion. In the remaining districts, 14 to 26 projects have passed the selection and are included in the pipeline, and only in the North Caucasus Federal District no projects are expected to be ready for launch. 64 regions have experience in implementing concessions and PPPs over RUB 100 million, but for 25 of them, it is still sporadic (1 to 2 concessions). Moreover, the better the infrastructure is developed in the region and the broader the market of construction companies, the more frequent the public-private partnership scheme is used. The exception is Moscow which often has enough its own funds for infrastructure construction. This trend is likely to intensify: the experienced and developed regions will be more motivated to approach project financing in the next two to three years.

According to InfraONE assessment, RUB 2.2–2.7 trillion are available in the financial market for infrastructure. However, the lack of projects hinders the funds to reach the construction site. Implementation of a systematic approach to strategic territory development, transparent tender procedure, development of seed funds, dealing with problems of construction market and competency building in construction management are the steps that, in the analysts’ opinion, will address the challenges in the long term (five-six years horizon, if get moving right now). However, to increase the number of the ready-to-launch projects is possible even in the coming years — in this regard projects’ authors may pay their attention to underestimated financial instruments at the market, in order to make the project bankable, while authorities may hasten the emergence of alternative state aid and new investment mechanisms.

Anlytics on the topic

All analytics
Research
24 May 2021
Investment in infrastructure. Ecology

The InfraOne Research study assesses the state of infrastructure related to environmental activities, as well as government policy and investment plans for the development of this area in Russia.

Articles
28 April 2020
COVID-19 Response: Big Decisions for CEOs Right Now—and Urgent Questions About the Time After

Everyone is scrambling to come to terms with the outbreak of COVID-19. That includes business leaders, of course. In the past days, we’ve heard from CEOs about the questions they’re asking and the steps they’re taking. We recommend a set of immediate actions as well as a set of critical questions that CEOs should ask about something difficult but important to address right now: how to plan for what comes after.

Инвестируй в Россию — инвестируй в регионы!
Вся аналитика

Эксперты InfraONE выделили 160 проектов, у которых, по их мнению, имеются высокие шансы на запуск в следующие три года. Общая сумма инвестиций в 160 проектов сформированного национального перечня перспективных проектов — 4 трлн руб. Из них 3,98 трлн руб. — 99,5% — проекты дороже 1 млрд руб., причём около 2,5 трлн руб., или 63% этих вложений, приходится примерно на 10 проектов с объёмом инвестиций более 100 млрд руб. Не все эти мегапроекты могут быть запущены в ближайшие три года, власти остановятся на трёх-четырёх из них, так как все инициативы потребуют участия бюджета.

В сегменте от 10 млрд руб. до 100 млрд руб. сосредоточено 40 проектов с общим объёмом вложений 1,29 трлн руб. Как утверждают аналитики InfraONE, именно эти проекты будут наиболее привлекательны для финансовых инвесторов, так как объём проекта в таком случае чаще всего позволяет окупить инвестиции в разумный срок. К запуску готово меньше четверти проектов национального перечня — только 18,1% (29 проектов на сумму 1,2 трлн руб.). Но даже среди них больше половины приходится на два мегапроекта — строительство участка ВСМ Москва — Казань и передачу в концессию аэропорта Домодедово, запуск которых осложнён из‑за сверхкрупного объёма. Проектов дороже 1 млрд руб. в перечне 96 штук, на более мелкую группу от 100 млн руб. до 1 млрд руб. приходится всего 64 проекта. Небольшие проекты готовят в основном регионы и муниципалитеты, но в итоге эти инициативы не интересны финансовым мейджорам и другим квалифицированным игрокам, а потому качество их подготовки остаётся посредственным.

В национальном перечне перспективных проектов ожидаемо лидирует транспортная отрасль — 55 проектов требуют 93,4% инвестиций (3,7 трлн руб.), а больше всего вложений планируется в железные и автомобильные дороги — 1,53 трлн руб. и 1,52 трлн руб. соответственно. В секторе железных дорог эти инвестиции нужны для реализации трёх проектов, а в секторе автомобильных дорог — тридцати пяти. По мнению аналитиков InfraONE, перевес транспорта сохранится и в силу дороговизны проектов, и благодаря особому вниманию властей к отрасли из‑за задач, поставленных «майским» указом.

Больше всего проектов перечня планируют запустить в Северо-Западном федеральном округе — 33 штуки на сумму свыше 400 млрд руб. Но по объёму инвестиций традиционно лидирует Центральный федеральный округ: 25 его проектов предполагают вложения порядка 1,3 трлн руб. В остальных округах отбор в перечень прошло от 14 до 26 проектов, и только в Северо-Кавказском федеральном округе InfraONE не ожидает запуска проектов. Опыт реализации концессий и ГЧП дороже 100 млн руб. есть у 64 регионов, но у 25 из них он пока единичный (1‑2 концессии). Причём, чем лучше в субъекте развита инфраструктура и шире рынок строительных компаний, тем чаще там применяют государственно-частное партнёрство. Исключение — Москва, которой чаще хватает собственных средств на инфраструктурные стройки. В следующие два-три года опытные и развитые регионы будут более мотивированы прибегать к проектному финансированию.

Для инвестиций в инфраструктуру на финансовом рынке, по оценке InfraONE, доступно 2,2–2,7 трлн руб. Но из‑за недостатка готовых проектов эти деньги не попадают в отрасль. Применение системного подхода к планированию развития территорий, прозрачный отбор проектов, развитие посевных фондов, решение проблем строительного рынка и наращивание компетенций в управлении строительством — шаги, которые помогут решить проблему в долгосрочной перспективе (пяти-шести лет, если начать действовать уже сейчас). Впрочем, увеличить количество запущенных проектов можно и в ближайшие годы. Для этого авторы проектов могут обратить внимание на недооцененные на рынке финансовые инструменты, чтобы сделать свою инициативу привлекательнее, а власти — способствовать появлению альтернативных форм господдержки и новых механизмов инвестирования.

Аналитика на тему

Все аналитические материалы
Статьи
28 апреля 2020
Ответ CEO на вызовы COVID-19: первоочередные меры и прицел в будущее

Эксперты BCG обсудили с руководителями компаний тревожащие их вопросы и меры, которые они предпринимают на фоне развития кризиса, связанного с COVID-19.


Экспертное мнение
27 декабря 2022
Синергия пространства развития в рамках реализации подходов к формированию мегаагломераций в России

Сформулированы вопросы формирования пространственного каркаса страны и обоснован перечень перспективных мегаагломераций, способных в перспективе вносить значимый вклад в социально-экономические параметры развития страны. Рассмотрена успешная зарубежная практика формирования и управления мегаагломерацией, а также сформулированы рекомендации для органов государственной и муниципальной власти.

Статьи
28 апреля 2020
Как управлять компанией в условиях пандемии

Пандемия COVID-19 продемонстрировала, что системы, созданные прежде всего для поддержания эффективности, оказываются хрупкими в условиях стресса. Как поменять подход к планированию в ответ на вызовы времени?