Invest in Russia — invest in Russian regions!
All analytics

“Made in China 2025”: How Beijing is boosting its semiconductor industry

Articles
10 January 2019
«Сделано в Китае — 2025»: как Пекин развивает полупроводниковую промышленность
Source
Release date
09/25/2018
Open PDF

As part of the «Made in China 2025» plan, the Chinese government has set its semiconductor industry a goal of reaching US$305 billion in output by 2030, and meeting 80 per cent of domestic demand. To compare, in 2016, China produced US$65 billion worth of semiconductors and supplied 33 per cent of the domestic market.

Semiconductors are essential to all electronic equipment, including smartphones, computers, cars, industrial robots, and military and aerospace equipment. The authors of the article differentiate between two production models: a) the Integrated Device Manufacturer (IDM) model, when a single firm carries out all of the production stages: design, manufacturing, assembly, testing and packaging; and b) the Fabless-Foundry model, when the production process is split among companies. Due to the current global division of labour, the making of a semiconductor usually involves several countries. The value chain has become increasingly dispersed across the world: most IDMs and design («fabless») firms are based in the US and South Korea, while foundries (manufacturing companies) and OSAT (Outsourced Semiconductor Assembly and Test) firms are concentrated in Taiwan and China.


The design work is currently the fastest-growing segment of the Chinese semiconductor industry. The sector’s distinguishing feature is the concentration of production sites in the economically more advanced eastern regions of the country.

As for global consumption, China now consumes more than half of the world’s chips. The country’s surging demand for chips in the past two decades has fuelled the growth of the global semiconductor market.


Anlytics on the topic

All analytics
Research
27 March 2020
Technological Innovation, Supply Chain Trade and Workers in a Globalized World

The publication by WTO studies global value chains (GVCs), the trends affecting them, and linkages between GVCs and technologies and labor markets in developed and developing economies.

Research
30 March 2018
Future of the Automotive Value Chain: Outlook 2025

The automotive industry and all its stakeholders are now in the period which can be described as disruptive and devastating. The detailed study of the future of the automotive value chain involves current and future trends in the automotive industry and impact on the overall value chain.

Research
6 June 2018
"Accumulative" effect: growing production of lithium and cobalt would impair their prices

Rechargeable battery metals market: 2022 forecast made by Analytical Credit Rating Agency (ACRA).

Research
16 October 2020
State and Trends of Carbon Pricing 2020

This report covers the latest developments and trends in carbon pricing initiatives around the world. It provides detailed updates to carbon pricing initiatives (either in operation or those coming online), and flags broader issues in the design of—and debate over— these instruments.

Инвестируй в Россию — инвестируй в регионы!
Вся аналитика

«Сделано в Китае — 2025»: как Пекин развивает полупроводниковую промышленность

Статьи
10 января 2019

В рамках реализации программы «Сделано в Китае — 2025» правительство Китая поставило перед полупроводниковой промышленностью цель: достичь к 2030 году объёмов производства в 305 млрд долл. США и покрыть 80% внутреннего спроса. Для сравнения, в 2016 году Китай произвёл полупроводников на 65 млрд долл. США и удовлетворил 33% общего спроса на внутреннем рынке.

Полупроводники являются необходимой составной частью для любого электронного оборудования, будь то смартфоны, компьютеры, автомобили, роботы на производстве, военная или авиакосмическая техника. При этом авторы статьи разграничивают две модели производства в отрасли: а) когда проектирование, изготовление, сборку, тестирование и упаковку выполняет одна компания полного цикла, и б) когда вышеуказанные производственные процессы распределены между разными компаниями. Ввиду сегодняшнего международного разделения труда, процесс производства полупроводников обычно происходит на территории нескольких стран. Цепочки создания стоимости всё больше рассредоточиваются по всей планете: большинство компаний полного цикла (Integrated Device Manufacturers (IDM) и проектных фирм (Fabless production) базируются в США и Южной Корее, в то время как основная масса компаний, выполняющих работы по изготовлению (Foundries), тестированию и сборке (Outsourced Semiconductor Assembly and Test (OSAT) companies) сосредоточены в Тайване и Китае.


Сфера производства полупроводников в Китае характеризуется наибольшими темпами роста проектных компаний, а также сосредоточенностью основных производственных площадок в более развитых экономически восточных регионах страны.

Что касается мирового потребления, то здесь Китай удерживает лидирующую позицию с долей более половины всего мирового потребления и тем самым способствует росту мирового рынка полупроводников в целом.


Аналитика на тему

Все аналитические материалы
Исследования
30 октября 2020
Цифровая энергия. Как интеллектуальные счетчики будут способствовать изменению энергетического ландшафта?
Консалтинговая фирма Arthur D. Little подготовила исследование на тему внедрения интеллектуального учета на рынке электроэнергии на территории ЕС.
Исследования
16 октября 2020
Состояние и тенденции углеродного ценообразования в 2020 году
В ежегодном отчете Всемирного банка освещаются последние события и тенденции в инициативах по установлению цен на выбросы углерода во всем мире, а также отмечается широкий спектр проблем в разработке этих инструментов и рассматриваются возможные пути их решения.<br />
Исследования
6 июня 2018
«Аккумулятивный эффект»: рост производства лития и кобальта приведет к падению цен на них

Прогноз состояния рынка металлов, используемых в производстве аккумуляторов до 2022 года от Аналитического Кредитного Рейтингового Агентства (АКРА)


Аналитические дайджесты
20 ноября 2020
Экологическая повестка и международная торговля: от противоречий к возможностям
Исследование, подготовленное экспертами ITI при участии Фонда Росконгресс, показывает основные векторы развития экологической повестки в мировой торговле.