Invest in Russia — invest in Russian regions!
All news

Citizens of 53 Countries to Be Granted Electronic Visas

28 January 2020
Граждане 53 стран смогут приехать на Дальний Восток по электронной визе

The list of the countries whose citizens can visit the Far Eastern Federal District on an electronic visa was expanded from 18 to 53. Mikhail Mishustin, Prime Minister of the Russian Federation signed the appropriate order on 24 January 2020.

According to the statistics by the Ministry for the Development of the Far East and the Arctic, as of 20 January 2020 the total of 187,599 electronic visas have been issued. 144,825 went to the citizens of China, with 37,136 to the citizens of Japan, and 2,562 to the citizens of India. 97% electronic visa recipients arrive via border control points located in the Primorye Territory.  

“Simplified visa procedures are a key element of the national Far East development programme. Today, Vladivostok emerges as a regional business activity centre. The city hosts large scale cultural events, its tourist infrastructure is expanding, all the while ambitious investment projects are being implemented. Thanks to the new visa procedures, I am confident that the number of foreign guests and participants of the Eastern Economic Forum that takes place 2 to 5 September 2020 will continue to grow,” said Anton Kobyakov, Advisor to the President of the Russian Federation.  

Electronic visas are being issued in the Fat Eastern Federal District since August 2017. “During the past 2.5 years the mechanism proved to be very popular, while the last year was record-breaking: the number of visas issued exceeded that of 2018 three times! The Far East is now even more open to the foreign tourists, it is far easier for investors to come here. The fact that this privilege has been expanded to the citizens of 53 countries is a logical continuation of the region’s development. Our priority task is making sure everyone is comfortable in the Far East,” said Alexander Kozlov, Minister of the Russian Federation for the Development of the Far East and the Arctic.

Citizens of the following 53 states can use electronic visas: Austria, Andorra, Bahrain, Belgium, Bulgaria, Vatican, Hungary, Germany, Greece, Denmark, India, Indonesia, Iran, Ireland, Iceland, Spain, Italy, Qatar, Cyprus, China, Democratic People’s Republic of Korea, Kuwait, Latvia, Lithuania, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Malta, Mexico, Monaco, the Netherlands, Norway, Oman, Poland, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Saudi Arabia, Northern Macedonia, Serbia, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Turkey, the Philippines, Finland, France, Croatia, the Czech Republic, Switzerland, Sweden, Estonia, and Japan.

Travelers with the electronic visa must use one of the following border control points: Vladivostok (Knevichi), Petropavlovsk-Kamchatsky (Elizovo), Blagoveschensk (Ignatyevo), Khabarovsk (Novy), Uzhno-Sakhalinsk (Khomutovo), Anadyr (Ugolny), Chita (Kadala), and Ulan-Ude (Baikal). Additionally, marine terminals are available in the Sakhalin Region, Primorye and Kamchatsky Territories, plus railway control points of Pogranichniy, Khasan, and Makhlino, as well as automobile control points of Poltavka and Turiy Rog.

Electronic visas allow one entry for up to 8 days without an extension possibility. The visa is valid for 30 calendar days.

Photo source: TASS