Invest in Russia — invest in Russian regions!
All analytics

Will “slowbalisation” snowball into the global services trade?

Research
18 May 2020
Скажется ли «слоубализация» на торговле услугами?
Source
Release date
03/16/2020
Open PDF

The publication by PwC studies the current trends and issues in the global services market arising from the spread of the coronavirus pandemic and a slowdown in the global economy — the so-called «slowbalisation».

The Roscongress Foundation presents the salient points of the publication accompanied by fragments of broadcasts of relevant panel discussions from the business programme of key international events held by the Roscongress Foundation.

Spread of COVID-19 shows how integrated the global economy is

The authors of the publication point out that China currently accounts for almost 20%, and for about 11% of total global exports (goods and services). In the aftermath of China’s entry to the World Trade Organization (WTO) in 2001, businesses are increasingly reliant on supply chains that include China. The South East Asian economies are more reliant on China as a source of input to their exports, compared to the other advanced economies in the West. A slowing down of the South Eastern economies could have a large impact on global GDP growth. This proves that COVID-19 is a risk that should be actively monitored by businesses and policymakers around the world.

Video: https://roscongress.org/sessions/globalnaya-sistema-torgovli-chto-dalshe/translation/

Businesses should start upskilling the workforce today to avoid shortage of skilled labor

PwC’s Global CEO Survey shows that more than 8 out of 10 CEOs are concerned about the availability of skills. This trend is driven by three factors: first, a smaller pool of available workers from which businesses can hire; second, higher retirement age in some advanced economies; and third, higher rates of automation which have the potential to displace jobs. This is why PwC analysts stress the importance of reaching the objective of upskilling one billion people by 2030 with a focus on workers whose tasks are likely to be automated.

Video: https://roscongress.org/sessions/rew-2019-globalnye-vyzovy-v-energetike-fokus-na-talanty/translation/

Uncertainty in the global trade arena continues to be a source of concern for many businesses

Developing countries are starting to take the lead on the services market. China was the world’s 5th largest services exporter in 2018. China is also the world’s largest source of international tourists. In 2018, Chinese tourists made 150 million outbound trips and accounted for around a fifth of global tourism spending. Depending on how long travel restrictions into and out of mainland China continue, this could have significant consequences for to the international travel and tourism sector. In the short term, PwC analysts expect a slowdown in the largest services exports sector, travel, due to COVID-19. In the medium to long term however, the outlook for services exports is more positive. The PwC experts believe that continued technological breakthroughs, coupled with the spread of faster and cheaper internet connections, mean that newer, more specialised services will continue to be developed, and that it will likely be easier to trade these across borders.

Video: https://roscongress.org/sessions/spief-2019-ustoychivost-mirovoy-torgovoy-sistemy-i-budushchee-globalizatsii/translation/

For more information about policy responses to the coronavirus outbreak and possible ways to stabilize the economy during the pandemic, please see the COVID-19 and StayHomeEconomy special sections of the Roscongress information and analytical system.

Anlytics on the topic

All analytics
Research
7 August 2020
UN Policy Brief: COVID-19 and People on the Move

The UN Secretary General Briefing Note presents a study of the impact of COVID-19 on populations already vulnerable before the crisis, such as illegal migrants, migrant workers with unstable livelihoods, or those working in the informal economy.

Expert opinion
4 August 2020
Challenges of 2020 to Revise Sport’s Formats and Mission

How did the pandemic shift priorities to mass sport over high performance athletics? What principles will determine the programme of the next Olympic Games? What makes cybersport an integral part of corporate culture? What is the humanitarian role of sport in the post-COVID world? Why challenges of 2020 need to be factored into the Sport Strategy 2030? Georgy Bryusov, Deputy CEO and Head of Sport, Entertainment and Special Programmes at the Roscongress Foundation, shared his view on these important issues.

Research
6 May 2020
Surviving and Thriving in the 21st Century
The Commission for the Human Future here calls on the nations and peoples of the Earth to come together, as a matter of urgency, to prepare a plan for humanity to survive and thrive, far into the future.


Expert opinion
3 June 2020
The broad penetration of the Internet is ultimately better for the safety of a country

In 2011 Eric Schmidt — one of the most renowned figures in the IT industry and at the time Executive Chairman of Google — spoke at the session «The World According to Google» at the St. Petersburg International Economic Forum. What he said turned out to be remarkably prophetic, particularly when viewed from the context of the current COVID-19 pandemic and our experience of self-isolation.

Инвестируй в Россию — инвестируй в регионы!
Вся аналитика

Скажется ли «слоубализация» на торговле услугами?

Исследования
18 мая 2020

В исследовании, подготовленном PwC, рассматриваются тенденции и вызовы рынка услуг в связи с распространением пандемии коронавируса и замедлением мировой экономики — так называемой «слоубализацией» (slowbalisation).

Аналитики Фонда Росконгресс выделили ключевые выводы исследования, сопроводив каждый из них подходящими по теме видеотрансляциями панельных дискуссий, состоявшихся в рамках деловых программ ключевых международных мероприятий, проведённых Фондом.

Распространение COVID-19 показывает, насколько сильно интегрирована глобальная экономика

В исследовании отмечается, что сегодня на долю Китая приходится почти 20% всего мирового экспорта товаров и около 11% экспорта услуг. После вступления Китая в ВТО в 2001 году предприятия всё больше полагаются на цепочки поставок, включающие Китай. При этом страны Юго-Восточной Азии в большей степени полагаются на Китай как на источник экспорта по сравнению с другими развитыми странами Запада. В свою очередь, замедление темпов роста экономики юго-восточных стран может оказать значительное влияние на рост мирового ВВП. Это доказывает, что COVID-19 — это риск, который должен активно контролироваться бизнесом и политиками по всему миру.

Видео: https://roscongress.org/sessions/globalnaya-sistema-torgovli-chto-dalshe/translation/

Компаниям необходимо уже сейчас решать проблемы рынка труда путём повышения квалификации рабочей силы

Глобальный опрос руководителей компаний показал, что 8 из 10 генеральных директоров обеспокоены необходимостью поиска высококвалифицированных специалистов на рынке труда. Эта тенденция обусловлена тремя факторами: уменьшением пула доступных работников, увеличением пенсионного возраста в некоторых странах с развитой экономикой и более высокими темпами автоматизации, что приводит к уменьшению количества рабочих мест. В связи с этим эксперты PwC подчёркивают необходимость достижения следующей цели: повысить квалификацию одного миллиарда человек к 2030 году, и в первую очередь — тех сотрудников, чьи рабочие места могут быть автоматизированы.

Видео: https://roscongress.org/sessions/rew-2019-globalnye-vyzovy-v-energetike-fokus-na-talanty/translation/

Неопределённость на мировой торговой арене по-прежнему является источником беспокойства для многих предприятий

Лидерство на рынке услуг постепенно переходит от развитых стран к развивающимся: в 2018 году Китай был пятым по величине экспортёром услуг в мире. Китай также является лидером в двух основных секторах международной сферы услуг — туризме и транспорте. Так, в 2018 году китайские туристы совершили 150 миллионов выездных поездок, что составило около пятой части мировых расходов на туризм. Эксперты PwC подчёркивают влияние пандемии COVID-19 на сферу услуг: в краткосрочной перспективе ожидается замедление темпов роста крупнейшего сектора экспорта услуг — туризма. В зависимости от того, как долго будут сохраняться ограничения на въезд в материковый Китай и выезд из него, это может иметь значительные последствия для международного сектора путешествий и туризма в среднесрочной и долгосрочной перспективе. Однако перспективы экспорта услуг являются более позитивными. Отмечается, что продолжающиеся технологические прорывы в сочетании с распространением более быстрого и дешёвого интернет-соединения означают, что новые, более специализированные услуги будут по-прежнему развиваться и что международная торговля ими, вероятно, будет упрощаться.

Видео: https://roscongress.org/sessions/spief-2019-ustoychivost-mirovoy-torgovoy-sistemy-i-budushchee-globalizatsii/translation/

Также предлагаем вам ознакомиться с другими материалами, размещёнными в специальных разделах Информационно-аналитической системы Росконгресс COVID-19 и СидимДомаЭкономика, посвящённых мерам реагирования на вспышку коронавируса и возможным путям стабилизации экономики в условиях пандемии.


Аналитика на тему

Все аналитические материалы
Исследования
14 апреля 2020
Обзор доклада Всемирного банка «Восточная Азия и Тихоокеанский регион во время вспышки COVID-19»

Фонд Росконгресс продолжает расширять базу знаний о коронавирусе, а также о мировых практиках по борьбе с инфекцией и устранению экономических последствий пандемии.


Исследования
25 мая 2021
Требуются лидеры. Мастерство перемен в момент истины

В исследовании, подготовленном компанией Accenture, рассматриваются тренды, связанные с лидерством и технологиями. Отдельный акцент сделан на вызовах, которые поставила перед лидерами пандемия коронавируса.

Исследования
24 мая 2021
Мировые маркетинговые тренды 2021 года: расстановка приоритетов

В докладе компании Deloitte приводятся результаты анализа поведения людей и брендов в период пандемии COVID-19, объясняющие процветание отдельных компаний в это непростое время. Авторы доклада рассматривают актуальные способы сохранения потребительской лояльности к бренду в условиях стремительно меняющегося мира, выделяя семь ключевых тенденций.