Invest in Russia — invest in Russian regions!
All analytics

Russian economy in 2021. Trends and outlooks

Research
13 June 2022
Российская экономика в 2021 году. Тенденции и перспективы
Source
Release date
04/29/2022
Open PDF

This publication by The Gaidar Institute for Economic Policy provides a detailed analysis of the most significant trends in the Russian economy, global trends in the social and economic development.

The Roscongress Foundation presents the salient points of the publication accompanied by fragments of broadcasts of relevant panel discussions from the business programme of international events held by the Roscongress Foundation.

The coronavirus pandemic presented a key challenge to socioeconomic and political development across the majority of countries.

The unprecedented consequences of the pandemic are evidenced by economic data. The shrinkage, in 2020, of global GDP by 3.4% was significantly greater than that observed during the acute phase of the 2009 crisis (by 1.3%). The authors of the publication point out that although the crisis caused by the pandemic was initially triggered by non-economic factors, it produced some huge macroeconomic and structural shifts. The analysts notice a correlation between the depth of the recession and countries’ dependence on globalization processes: the developed economies declined by 4.5%, and the developing, by 2.1%. However, the recovery across the developed economies was likewise faster.

Video: https://roscongress.org/sessions/spief-2021-sotrudnichestvo-v-ramkakh-b20-dlya-preodoleniya-posledstviy-koronakrizisa-/search/#00:00:52.224

Global challenges acted as a catalyst for changes in the world economy in 2021.

The key features of the year 2021 were the pandemic, economic dynamics and global inflation, as well as a sudden sharp focus on the climate agenda.

The pandemic continued in the form of several new waves. However, as vaccination campaigns progressed, the economic downturn gave way to a recovery growth followed by a recovery in employment. Many of the leading economies recovered, or even surpassed their 2019 levels.

And at the same time, inflation began to rapidly gain in strength around the world, moving above the target benchmarks nearly in all the countries that had been implementing inflation targeting policies.

The authors of the publication believe that short-term economic prospects depend to a great degree on the prospects for combating the pandemic. As for long-term structural shifts triggered by the pandemic, the experts single out the increasing attention of both governments and individuals to healthcare and education, and development of digital technologies and virtual (augmented) reality, as well as infrastructure (digital and physical).

The influence of the climate agenda on various socioeconomic policy aspects (monetary, fiscal, competitive, structural) and the labor market prospects is becoming increasingly stronger. Moreover, the environmental agenda is no longer reduced just to climate change, but addresses various aspects of life globally and on a national level. ESG (ecology-social-governance) is becoming one of the key concepts.

The Gaidar Institute analysts also call attention to economic populism, a trend that in recent years has been characteristic of the policies of many developed countries. It includes expansionary fiscal policy and the idea that debt monetization, protectionism, and trade wars are necessary.

Video: https://roscongress.org/sessions/eef-2021-biznes-dialog-rossiya-asean/search/#00:24:05.632

The Russian economy has recovered from the recession caused by the pandemic.

The Russian economy demonstrated a high recovery rate, surpassing the pre-crisis level as early as Q2 2021. At year-end 2021, the economic growth index stood at 4.7%. The labor market recovered, with the unemployment rate at the year-end of 2021 close to 4.3%. The labor force increased by 1.7 mn. Job postings from employers jumped up by 25%, and the ratio of unemployed people to job posts declined to 1.7, compared to 2.9 in 2020 and 1.9 in 2019. Real disposable income resumed growth.

The Gaidar Institute analysts believe that the key issues that the Russian economy is going to deal with in the near future are similar to the issues that almost all developed countries are currently faced with. These are the prospects for economic growth, suppressing inflation and avoiding stagflation, and the need for careful fiscal policy.

Video: https://roscongress.org/sessions/eef-2021-vyzovy-i-perspektivy-rossiyskogo-rynka-truda/search/#00:02:08.256

Gain more insights about economic development and banking in the Economic progress and Monetary policy sections of the Roscongress Information and Analytical System, and about possible ways to stabilize the economy in a pandemic in the StayHomeEconomy section.

Anlytics on the topic

All analytics
Articles
28 April 2020
The Oil Price Shock(s) of 2020

COVID-19 has created a demand shock in the oil market as social distancing reduces movement and daily travel for more and more of us each day. At present, most of the reporting agencies expect oil demand growth this year to be largely flat, well below the 1.2 million barrels/day (mmb/d) expected just a few months ago. And this demand growth forecast will likely be revised down further as large gatherings are cancelled, schools shut their doors, and companies implement policies to encourage or mandate working from home.

Research
21 August 2020
Role of Culture in Global Crisis: How Identity and Values Shape Behavior

Ipsos experts present a study of the role of various cultural traditions in shaping the society behavior during the dangerous situation. The study also studies the impact of the pandemic on various aspects of consumer behavior.

Articles
17 June 2020
Review of HSE Research on Various Volunteering Practices During COVID-19 Pandemic

Experts from the Roscongress Foundation present a review of two articles included in the special edition of the Higher School of Economics ‘’HSE Analytical Bulletin on the Economic and Social Consequences of the Coronavirus in Russia and Globally’’. The articles focus on various volunteering practices that have spread during the COVID-19 pandemic.

Инвестируй в Россию — инвестируй в регионы!
Вся аналитика

Российская экономика в 2021 году. Тенденции и перспективы

Исследования
13 июня 2022

В исследовании, подготовленном Институтом экономической политики им. Е. Т. Гайдара, содержится подробный анализ наиболее значимых тенденций в российской экономике, глобальных трендов социально-экономического развития.

Аналитики Фонда Росконгресс выделили основные тезисы данного исследования, сопроводив каждый из них подходящим по теме фрагментом видеотрансляций панельных дискуссий, состоявшихся в рамках деловых программ ключевых мероприятий, проведенных Фондом.

Пандемия коронавируса стала ключевым вызовом для социально-экономического и политического развития большинства стран.

О беспрецедентности этого события говорят экономические данные. Сокращение глобального ВВП в 2020 году на 3,4% оказалось существенно большим, чем в острой фазе кризиса 2009 года (1,3%). Авторы публикации указывают, что, несмотря на первоначально неэкономическую природу событий, коронакризис стал триггером коренных сдвигов макроэкономического и структурного характера. Наметилась зависимость между включенностью экономики страны в глобальные процессы и глубиной ее спада: в развитых странах он составил 4,5%, в развивающихся — 2,1%. При этом развитые экономики показали более быстрые темпы восстановления.

Видео: https://roscongress.org/sessions/spief-2021-sotrudnichestvo-v-ramkakh-b20-dlya-preodoleniya-posledstviy-koronakrizisa-/search/#00:00:52.224

Глобальные вызовы стали катализатором изменений в мировой экономике в 2021 году.

В 2021 году ключевое влияние на мировую экономику оказали пандемия, глобальная инфляция и экономическая динамика, а также резкое обострение внимания к климатическим изменениям.

Пандемия приобрела характер нескольких последовательных волн. Однако вакцинация населения позволила начать восстановительный рост, в результате чего произошло увеличение занятости населения. Многие ведущие страны достигли или превзошли уровень 2019 года.

Одновременно с этим в мире развились процессы глобальной инфляции, превысившей показатели почти во всех странах, проводивших политику инфляционного таргетирования.

По мнению авторов работы, краткосрочные перспективы экономической динамики коррелируют с дальнейшими тенденциями развития пандемии и борьбы с ней. Среди долгосрочных сдвигов эксперты Института Гайдара называют вызванное пандемией усиление внимания государств и граждан к отраслям здравоохранения и образования, развитию цифровизации и виртуализации, а также развитию инфраструктуры (как цифровой, так и материальной).

Климатическая повестка оказывает все большее влияние на различные аспекты социально-экономической политики — денежно-кредитную, бюджетную, конкурентную, структурную, на перспективы рынка труда. Расширилось и понимание экологической повестки: теперь в нее включают не только проблемы изменения климата, но и различные стороны жизни глобального сообщества и отдельных стран. Одним из ключевых понятий становится ESG (ecology-social-governance).

Авторы исследования обращают внимание на рост экономического популизма, который в последние годы оказывает все большее влияние на экономическую политику развитых стран. Он проявляется в экспансионистской бюджетной политике и представлении о необходимости перманентной монетизации долга, протекционизма и торговых войн.

Видео: https://roscongress.org/sessions/eef-2021-biznes-dialog-rossiya-asean/search/#00:24:05.632

Российская экономика преодолела пандемийный спад.

Экономика России показала высокие темпы восстановления, преодолев предпандемийный уровень во II квартале 2021 года; по итогам всего года темпы роста составили 4,7%. Произошло оживление рынка труда: к концу 2021 года безработица снизилась до 4,3%, а численность рабочей силы увеличилась на 1,7 млн человек. На 25% выросло количество вакансий, а их соотношение с числом безработных составило 1,7 (1,9 в 2019 г., 2,95 в 2020 г.). Возобновился рост реальных располагаемых доходов населения.

В Институте Гайдара полагают, что ключевые вопросы, стоящие перед российской экономикой, соответствуют вопросам, стоящим перед всеми развитыми странами: обеспечение перспектив экономического роста, подавление инфляции и недопущение стагфляции, осторожная бюджетная политика.

Видео: https://roscongress.org/sessions/eef-2021-vyzovy-i-perspektivy-rossiyskogo-rynka-truda/search/#00:02:08.256

Также предлагаем вам ознакомиться с другими материалами, размещенными в разделах Информационно-аналитической системы Росконгресс СидимДомаЭкономика, Экономический прогресс и Денежно-кредитная политика, которые посвящены экономическому развитию и банковской сфере, а также возможным путям стабилизации экономики в условиях пандемии.


Аналитика на тему

Все аналитические материалы
Исследования
5 марта 2021
Макроэкономическая ситуация в странах Центральной Азии: как Казахстан, Узбекистан, Киргизия и Таджикистан переживают последствия пандемии COVID-19

В исследовании рейтингового агентства «Эксперт РА» представлен обзор макроэкономической ситуации в странах Центральной Азии и динамики их инвестиционного потенциала, при этом отдельное внимание акцентировано на последствиях пандемии COVID-19 для центральноазиатских экономик.

Аналитические дайджесты
15 февраля 2021
Шварценеггер, TikTok и экономика Кубка Первого канала по фигурному катанию

Фонд Росконгресс представляет дайджест новостей «Мировой спорт в условиях пандемии COVID-19» за период с 12 по 15 февраля.

Аналитические дайджесты
14 сентября 2020
Убытки World Athletics, проблемы с партнерами Токио-2020 и возвращение чемпионки из России

Фонд Росконгресс представляет дайджест новостей «Мировой спорт в условиях пандемии COVID-19» за 12–14 сентября.

Аналитические дайджесты
30 апреля 2020
Глава МОК: спорт может помочь миру восстановиться после кризиса

Фонд Росконгресс представляет дайджест новостей «Мировой спорт в условиях пандемии COVID-19» за 27–30 апреля.