Invest in Russia — invest in Russian regions!
All analytics

4Q 2018. Key Trends: Cryptocurrencies and ICO

Research
4 March 2019
4Q 2018. Ключевые тренды: криптовалюты и ICO
Source
Release date
02/06/2019
Open PDF

The Bloomchain analysts observe that total capitalization of the crypto market continued to decline in 2018: in the last three months of 2018 it fell by 49% — from $222 billion to $129 billion, while overall market decline for 12 months of 2018 amounted to 77%. Bitcoin remains the leader by capitalization: at the end of December 2018 its capitalization was $66.97 billion, which exceeds 50% of the total volume of the crypto market. XRP with a capitalization of $14.92 billion comes second, having beaten Etherium ($14.23 billion) by the end of the year.


A crypto investor employing the «buy and hold» strategy would suffer losses in the 4Q of 2018 as none of the top 5 currencies has grown in value. Investments in XRP would be the least unprofitable (about 40%), while Bitcoin Cash would be the most loss-making (nearly 70%). Investments in leading currencies were also mostly unprofitable, as shown by the results of the year: average ROI (return on investment) for top 5 coins was −80% at year-end 2018.

Bitcoin, despite its popularity, had high spreads on some exchanges, which opened up possibilities for arbitrage. Unlike two previous years, in 2018 both cryptocurrencies and traditional benchmarks had a negative Sharpe ratio, which means that such investments had a negative average annual profitability. Decreased commission per Bitcoin transaction in 2018 led to a drop in total miners’ revenues — in 4Q 2018 it amounted to an average $7 million a day (a 40% decrease in three months).

The Bloomchain experts point out an increase in the volume of ICO (initial coin offering, i.e. attracting investments by selling cryptocurrencies to investors), stressing the fact that total investments attracted through ICO and Pre-ICO in 2018 amounted to as much as $21.5 billion, or 76% of the total volume of all ICOs ever. Apart from this, the analysts note a new trend in the digital assets market — STO (security token offering), meaning initial offering of so-called «regulated tokens» which come close to securities by their features and functionality.

Anlytics on the topic

All analytics
Research
8 June 2020
Monitoring of Russia’s Economic Outlook. Trends and Challenges of Socio-Economic Development

This publication by Gaidar Institute and RANEPA contains a collection of articles about the coronavirus pandemic and its impact on various spheres, including economy and finance. The central focus is on economic stabilization efforts and state support for businesses in the current conditions.

Research
7 September 2018
Blockchain Technologies: Current State and Key Insights

This analytical report, prepared by the Federal Institute of Industrial Property with expert support from the Blockchain Competence Center of Vnesheconombank, provides patent landscape analysis on blockchain technologies. It reviews global patenting trends, leading companies in industry sectors, as well as geography, markets, and areas of application of blockchain technologies.

Research
8 February 2019
The Green Bond Market in Europe 2018

This report by the Climate Bonds Initiative looks at the evolution and the current state of the European green bond market.

Research
20 June 2018
Russian regions have become net lenders for financial institutions

ACRA research is devoted to Russian regions’ financial reserves and commercial debt.

Инвестируй в Россию — инвестируй в регионы!
Вся аналитика

4Q 2018. Ключевые тренды: криптовалюты и ICO

Исследования
4 марта 2019

Как отмечают аналитики проекта Bloomchain, суммарная капитализация криптовалютного рынка в 2018 году продолжила свое падение: за последние три месяца 2018 года она упала на 49% — с 222 млрд. дол. до 129 млрд. дол., а общее падение рынка за 12 месяцев 2018 года составило 77%. Лидером по капитализации среди криптовалют остался Bitcoin: по состоянию на конец декабря 2018 года его капитализация составляла 66,97 млрд. дол., или более половины совокупного объема всего криптовалютного рынка. На второе место вырвался XRP с капитализацией в 14,92 млрд. дол., под конец года обошедший Ethereum (14,23 млрд. дол.).


Криптовалютный инвестор, использующий стратегию buy and hold, в четвертом квартале 2018 года потерпел бы убытки — ни одна из топ-5 криптовалют, не прибавила в стоимости. Наименьшие потери принесли бы вложения в XRP (около 40%), наибольшие — в Bitcoin Cash (почти 70%). По итогам 2018 года вложения в крупнейшие криптовалюты также были преимущественно убыточными: средний ROI (показатель окупаемости инвестиций) для топ-5 монет по итогам 12 месяцев составил минус 80%.

Bitcoin, несмотря на свою популярность, имел высокие спреды на некоторых биржах, что открывало широкие возможности для арбитража. В 2018 году, в отличие от двух предыдущих лет, и у криптовалют, и у традиционных бенчмарков значение коэффициента Шарпа было отрицательным, соответственно такие инвестиции имели отрицательную среднегодовую дохожность. Падение комиссии в расчете на одну транзакцию Bitcoin по итогам 2018 года привело к снижению доходов майнеров — в четвертом квартале 2018 года он составлял в среднем 7 млн. дол. в день (падение за три месяца на 40%).

Bloomchain отмечают рост объемов ICO (привлечения инвестиций в виде продажи инвесторам криптовалют или initial coin offering,), акцентируя внимание аудитории на то, что 21,5 млрд. дол. или 76% от общего объема всех ICO было привлечено на ICO и Pre-ICO в 2018 году. Кроме этого, новой тенденцией на рынке размещения цифровых активов стало STO (security token offering) — первичное размещение так называемых «регулируемых токенов», по свойствам и функционалу приближенных к ценным бумагам.


Аналитика на тему

Все аналитические материалы
Исследования
22 июня 2018
Концентрация владения криптовалютой в России нивелирует риски для финансовой системы страны

Исследование АКРА посвящено анализу влияния рынка криптовалюты на финансовую стабильность России


Исследования
4 августа 2017
Реформа финансовых рынков и небанковского финансового сектора

Настоящий доклад рассматривает проблемы финансовых рынков и небанковского финансового сектора России, которые потенциально могут играть важную роль в процессах ускорения экономического роста, повышения его качества, а также поступательного увеличения благосостояния населения.


Исследования
13 июня 2022
Доклад о денежно-кредитной политике

В исследовании, подготовленном Центральным банком Российской Федерации, содержится подробный анализ наиболее значимых тенденций в российской экономике, вопросов формирования экономической повестки в стране.


Исследования
24 мая 2017
Кризис и финансовая стабильность. Стратегия трансформации банковского сектора

События последнего года изменили экономические реалии, в которых функционирует российская банковская система. На сегодняшний момент перед многими участниками банковского рынка стоит вопрос о том, насколько быстро они смогут адаптироваться к изменяющимся макро- и микроэкономическим условиям и что для этого потребуется.