Invest in Russia — invest in Russian regions!
All analytics

Economic Health of the Russian Regions: Current Level and Changing Dynamics

Research
12 February 2019
The Roscongress Foundation and the Expert RA rating agency, which is serving as an intellectual partner at the Russian Investment Forum Case Zone, will present the study ‘Economic Health of the Russian Regions: Current Level and Changing Dynamics’.

The study makes it possible to differentiate Russia’s regions based on their current level of economic development (status map) and changes in the regional economy (dynamic map), i.e. it helps to visually see which regions are experiencing positive dynamics and which ones are deteriorating.

The study is based on the regional economic health index. The index is used due to a significant lag (more than a year and a half) in the time it takes to publish data on GRP (gross regional product) as well as the existence of a large array of regional data: the index uses operational (monthly) data on the situation in regions published by the Russian Federal State Statistics Service (Rosstat), the Ministry of Finance of the Russian Federation, the Russian Central Bank, and the Federal Tax Service of Russia. The index consists of three main groups of indicators that are used to assess the economic health of the population of the regions, regional business, and the consolidated budget of a region. Each group contains 3-4 key indicators.

There is currently a high degree of differentiation in the development of Russia’s regions. There continues to be a gap between the values of key metrics (the wellbeing of the population, the state of business, and a region’s consolidated budget) in regions with high and low levels of development. The current level of development is rated as high in 12 regions, above average in 20 regions, and average in 19 regions. The current level of development in 20 and 14 regions is rated as below average and low, respectively.

This year, the index values improved in the overwhelming majority of Russian regions. In particular, positive trends (i.e. a significant improvement in indicators) were seen in 29 regions, while 36 regions showed moderately positive trends. Neutral indicators were recorded in 14 regions. Moderately negative dynamics were seen in 6 regions. On results of the current year, there were no regions in which the key indicators integrally demonstrated significant negative dynamics.

Anlytics on the topic

All analytics
Research
27 March 2020
Sustainable growth of the non-resource sector of the Russian economy

This roadmap is based on the Growth Strategy — a mid-term program of socio-economic development of Russia. The Strategy stipulates a shift of focus of Russia’s economic policy from macroeconomic stabilization to an active stimulation of socio-economic growth and a modernization of the country’s economy.

Research
30 December 2019
World Development Report 2020: Trading for Development in the Age of Global Value Chains

The World Bank Group has published a flagship report about the world development in 2020. The publication studies the causes and implications of the slowdown in globalization. Also, the World Bank analysts identify a number of threats that could nullify the progress on poverty reduction achieved over the last decade.

Research
23 March 2018
ARCTIC 18-24-35

Russian Arctics is a special site for state management. Its complexity consists not only in climatic, ecological or logistical features, which undoubtedly have an impact on development, but also a very high price of human errors. When developing a strategy for the region, it is necessary to take into account a variety of natural, not just economic, factors.

Инвестируй в Россию — инвестируй в регионы!
Вся аналитика

Экономическое здоровье российских регионов: текущий уровень и динамика изменений

Исследования
12 февраля 2019
Фонд Росконгресс и рейтинговое агентство «Эксперт РА», выступающее интеллектуальным партнером Кейс-зоны на Российском инвестиционном форуме представляют исследование «Экономическое здоровье российских регионов: текущий уровень и динамика изменений».
Исследование позволяет дифференцировать регионы по текущему уровню экономического развития (карта состояний) и по темпам происходящих изменений (карта динамики), то есть помогает наглядно увидеть, в каких регионах наблюдается позитивная динамика, а в каких идет ухудшение показателей.

В основе исследования лежит индекс экономического здоровья регионов. Целесообразность его разработки обусловлена значительным лагом (более полутора лет), с которым публикуются данные по ВРП (валовому региональному продукту), а также наличием большого массива региональных данных: в индексе используются оперативные (ежемесячные) данные по ситуации в регионах, которые публикуют Росстат, Минфин РФ, ЦБ РФ, ФНС РФ. Индекс состоит из трех основных групп показателей, которые позволяют оценить экономическое здоровье населения регионов, регионального бизнеса и консолидированного бюджета региона. В каждой группе — по 3–4 ключевых показателя.

Текущий уровень развития регионов России характеризуется высокой степенью дифференциации. Продолжает существовать пропасть между значениями ключевых метрик (благосостояние населения, состояние бизнеса и консолидированного бюджета региона) у регионов с высоким и низким текущими уровнями развития. У 12 регионов текущий уровень развития оценивается как высокий, у 20 регионов — как выше среднего, у 19 регионов — как средний. Текущий уровень развития 20 и 14 регионов оцениваются как ниже среднего и низкий соответственно.

В текущем году значения индекса улучшились у подавляющего числа российских регионов. Так, показатели 29 регионов продемонстрировали позитивную динамику (т. е. значимое улучшение показателей), 36 регионов продемонстрировали умеренно позитивную динамику. Нейтральную динамику показателей зафиксировали у 14 регионов. Умеренно негативную динамику отметили у 6 регионов. По итогам текущего года не выявлены регионы, у которых ключевые показатели интегрально продемонстрировали существенную негативную динамику.

Аналитика на тему

Все аналитические материалы
Исследования
23 марта 2018
Демографические вызовы России

Демографические вызовы принадлежат к числу главных вызовов XXI века, и они стоят не только перед Россией. Требующие ответа вызовы обусловлены прежде всего глубокими изменениями в самом ходе демографических процессов, объединяемыми понятием «демографический переход». Эти изменения объективны, закономерны и в целом прогрессивны, однако они несут в себе и негативные последствия, требующие соответствующего ответа.


Исследования
20 февраля 2020
Из тени в свет перелетая. Российский бизнес за минувшие 30 лет глазами его «отцов» и «детей»

Компания PricewaterhouseCoopers (PwC) опубликовала исследование, основанное на результатах опроса предпринимателей и посвящённое динамике основных характеристик ведения бизнеса за последние 30 лет. В публикации представлена общая оценка ведения бизнеса в России, портрет бизнесмена, оценка возможностей ведения бизнеса в 90-е годы и в нынешнее время. На основе этих данных показаны возможные пути развития предпринимательства в России в ближайшем будущем.


Экспертное мнение
15 октября 2019
Александр Стуглев: «Общение пройдет на самом высоком уровне»

Директор Фонда Росконгресс Александр Стуглев рассказал о своевременности проведения Экономического форума Россия — Африка и его влиянии на развитие торговых, экономических и социальных отношений между странами.