Invest in Russia — invest in Russian regions!
All analytics

Russia and Kazakhstan – drivers of regional development

Research
15 June 2022
Россия и Казахстан – драйверы регионального развития
Release date
06/15/2022
Open PDF

The study of the Roscongress Foundation presents the main areas of cooperation between the Russian Federation and the Republic of Kazakhstan in the field of economy, humanitarian interaction and in the geopolitical arena.

Economic cooperation between Russia and Kazakhstan is multi-vector, mutually beneficial and promising.

Russia ranks 4th in terms of FDI in Kazakhstan ($1.9 billion in 2021), while Kazakhstan accounts for the largest share of all Russia’s accumulated investments in the CIS countries ($11.2 billion). Among all directions of FDI in Kazakhstan, only Belarus is ahead of Russia, the volume of accumulated investments in Russia is about $1 billion. Active cooperation is also carried out in the aerospace industry, in the production of mineral fertilizers, mechanical engineering, metallurgy, logistics, etc. As a result, Kazakhstan is among the ten largest trading partners of Russia, ranking 8th in exports and 9th in imports. Russia, in turn, ranks 9th in imports from Kazakhstan and 1st in exports.

Russia and Kazakhstan are the key countries of Eurasian integration and play a decisive role in ensuring security in Central Asia and the Eurasian space as a whole.

Russia and Kazakhstan are active members of the EAEU, the CSTO and the SCO, participating in the development and security of a vast territory from the Indian to the Arctic Ocean, from the Pacific Ocean to the Atlantic Ocean. In the context of deglobalization and regionalization of the world economy, active interaction within the framework of integration structures with such countries as China, India, Pakistan, etc. can become the most important factor in ensuring secure long-term development based on the principles of mutual respect and mutual benefit.

The socio-cultural sphere in the interaction between Russia and Kazakhstan requires increased attention from both countries.

Kazakhstan confidently ranks first in terms of the number of its students in Russian universities. 4 out of 5 students studying abroad do it in Russia (for example, in 2020, more than 60,000 Kazakh school graduates entered Russian universities). Joint scientific research projects are being carried out by Russian and Kazakhstani specialists. There is active cooperation in the field of medicine and pharmaceuticals. However, over the time that has passed since the collapse of the USSR, the share of the Russian population in Kazakhstan has significantly decreased and the role of the Russian language as the language of interethnic communication has decreased. These circumstances create additional difficulties in the implementation of cooperation projects, and the potential of such cooperation is far from being achieved.


We also invite you to familiarize yourself with other materials posted in special sections of the Roscongress Information and Analytical System EAEU, SCO and Foreign direct investmentdedicated to topical issues of international cooperation.

Anlytics on the topic

All analytics
Research
8 November 2017
The 25th APEC Meeting in Danang: Together Towards Prosperity and Harmonious Development

Article by Vladimir Putin, The 25th APEC Meeting in Danang: Together Towards Prosperity and Harmonious Development is the announcement of the position of the Russian side on the eve of the APEC anniversary summit, held on 10-11 November 2017.

Analytical digest
22 October 2019
Russia and Africa: Long-Term Partnership in Trade and Economy

The report prepared by the Roscongress Foundation in collaboration with the International Trade and Integration Research Center (ITI) specially for the first Russia—Africa Economic Forum gives an overview of Africa’s role in global economy and of the trade relations between Russia and Africa.


Research
30 July 2018
Qingdao Declaration of the Council of Heads of State of Shanghai Cooperation Organisation

Qingdao Declaration was adopted on June 10, 2018 following the meeting of the Council of Heads of State of SCO in Qingdao, China. The Declaration is designed to resolve key issues in political, security, economic, cultural, and humanitarian areas and is aimed at expanding multifaceted cooperation.

Expert opinion
22 May 2018
«Without women, the economy would grind to a halt»

On 20–21 September 2018, the Second Eurasian Women’s Forum will take place in St. Petersburg, organized by the Russian Federation Council and the Interparliamentary Assembly of Member Nations of the Commonwealth of Independent States, and operated by the Roscongress Foundation. Speaker of the Federation Council Valentina Matviyenko talks about the events being planned, women’s role in business, and gender equality.

Инвестируй в Россию — инвестируй в регионы!
Вся аналитика

Россия и Казахстан – драйверы регионального развития

Исследования
15 июня 2022

В исследовании Фонда Росконгресс представлены основные направления сотрудничества Российской Федерации и Республики Казахстан в сфере экономики, гуманитарного взаимодействия и на геополитической арене.

Экономическое сотрудничество между Россией и Казахстаном является многовекторным, взаимовыгодным и перспективным.

Россия занимает 4 место по объему ПИИ в Казахстан (в 2021 году — 1,9 млрд. долл.), при этом на Казахстан приходится наибольшая часть всех наколенных инвестиций России в страны СНГ (11,2 млрд. долл.). Среди всех направлении ПИИ Казахстана Россию опережает только Беларусь, объем накопленных инвестиций в Россию составляет около 1 млрд. долл. Наибольший объем взаимных инвестиций приходится на ТЭК, среди них инвестиции, связанные с добычей и транспортировкой нефти и газа, с атомной энергетикой, магистральной электроэнергетикой. Активное сотрудничество ведется также в аэрокосмической отрасли, в сфере производства минеральных удобрений, машиностроения, металлургии, логистике и пр. Как итог, Казахстан входит в десятку крупнейших торговых партнеров России занимая 8 место по экспорту и 9 место по импорту. Россия в свою очередь занимает 9 место по импорту из Казахстана и 1 место по экспорту.

Россия и Казахстан являются ключевыми странами евразийской интеграции играют решающую роль в обеспечении безопасности в Центральной Азии и на евразийском пространстве в целом.

Россия и Казахстан являются действующими членами ЕАЭС, ОДКБ и ШОС, участвуя в развитии и обеспечении безопасности на огромной территории от Индийского до Северного ледовитого океана, от Тихого океана до бассейна Атлантического океана. В условиях деглобализации и регионализации мировой экономики активное взаимодействие в рамках интеграционных структур с такими странами как Китай, Индия, Пакистан и др. может стать важнейшим фактором обеспечения безопасного долгосрочного развития на принципах взаимоуважения и взаимовыгодности.

Социально-культурная сфера во взаимодействии России и Казахстана требует повышения внимания со стороны обеих стран.

Казахстан уверенно занимает первое место по количеству своих студентов в российских вузах. 4 из 5 студентов, обучающихся за рубежом, делают это в России (так, в 2020 году более 60 тыс. выпускников школ Казахстана поступили в российские вузы). Осуществляются проекты совместных научных исследований российскими и казахстанскими специалистами. Активно идет сотрудничество в сфере медицины и фармацевтики. Однако, за прошедшие с момента распада СССР время, существенно сократилась доля русского населения в Казахстане и снизилась роль русского языка как языка межнационального общения. Данные обстоятельства создают дополнительные сложности при реализации проектов сотрудничества, а потенциал такого сотрудничества далек от достижения.


Также предлагаем вам ознакомиться с другими материалами, размещенными в специальных разделах Информационно-аналитической системы Росконгресс ЕАЭС, ШОС и Прямые иностранные инвестиции, посвященных актуальным вопросам международного сотрудничества.


Аналитика на тему

Все аналитические материалы
Исследования
5 сентября 2017
Инвестиции в инфраструктуру. Азия

Аналитический обзор «Инвестиции в инфраструктуру. Азия». Специально для форума ВЭФ 2017

Исследования
18 января 2019
Барьеры, изъятия и ограничения Евразийского Экономического Союза

В докладе Евразийской экономической комиссии (ЕЭК), так называемой «Белой книге», разработанном совместно с государствами-членами и бизнес-сообществом ЕАЭС, представлены существующие препятствия на внутреннем рынке ЕАЭС, механизмы по их устранению и преимущества от их устранения для участников рынка.


Исследования
2 декабря 2019
Доклад о торговле и развитии за 2019 год: финансирование «Глобального зелёного нового курса»

Конференция ООН по торговле и развитию (ЮНКТАД) посвятила текущее издание ежегодной серии докладов о торговле и развитии таким вопросам, как влияние торговых войн на темпы роста мировой экономики, сокращение инвестиций и снижение предсказуемости, уделив отдельное внимание финансированию проектов, обеспечивающих экологическую стабильность.