Healthcare is one of the functioning components of the Russian state that is relatively underestimated from a financial point of view. At present, pharmaceutical production, the pharmaceutical business and some separate areas in treatment medicine (dentistry, obstetrics and gynecology, plastic surgery and a number of others) are primarily among those that have been capitalized, but the state remains the leading player in this sphere.

The share of completely private clinics is approximately 5% of the total number, and private emergency medical services and medical laboratories working in the mass market are only present in the largest cities and their satellite towns. In general, medicine and pharmacies employ approximately 15% of the working population (more than 4.5 mln people according to data from 2011).

 

Historical Background

The history of Russian medicine starts only in the seventeenth century, as in Muscovy there was no medicine as a systematic phenomenon. Healers (mainly foreigners) and foreign drugstores could be found in large cities, but there was no comprehensive home training of doctors. Mass medicine was completely performed by craftsman doctors (i.e., self-educated doctors), potion shops (drugstore prototypes), where medicinal herbs and their mixtures were sold. At the end of the sixteenth century, in all of Novgorod (which was not a small town) there were only six healers and one foreign doctor, while (for example) in Pskov, only a few herbalists practiced.

Only in the middle of the seventeenth century, due to numerous wars and the demand for real medicine that they created, was the Pharmaceutical Prikaz (the centralized authority regulating the entire medical field) established, followed in 1654 by its subordinated Doctor’s School, which had a rather modern program for those times, including a practical course as well. During this same period, for the first time the government sent young people abroad to study medicine.

At the very beginning of the eighteenth century, during the first years of Peter the Great’s rule, serious reforms in medicine began. First, a decree of the czar was adopted in 1701 that completely banned the primitive potion shops and gave rise to modern drugstores. In 1706, a school was established at the Central Moscow Hospital for the training of home doctors and pharmacists for the needs of the Russian army. In 1719, the first pharmaceutical garden appeared in St. Petersburg, and only a few years later, the first Russian enterprise producing medical preparations. The history of the Russian pharmaceutical industry can be counted from 1720.

For a long time there were only state drugstores in Russia, but in 1726 private drugstores were permitted to open, and by the beginning of the nineteenth century, the drugstore network covered almost the entire country. In 1789, a special pharmaceutical regulation was developed, which became the main regulating document for all pharmacists, introducing progressive rules governing the function of drugstores and the preparation and storage of drugs and their sale.

By the beginning of the nineteenth century, Russian medical education, which had begun less than a century previously, had already become so strong that it had developed not only an educational sphere, but a scientific sphere as well. At the turn of the eighteenth to nineteenth centuries, the first national scientific works appeared in the area of medicine and pharmaceuticals, and with each year their number grew. An especially large number of works were devoted to studies of medicinal herbs and ways for preparing medicines from them.

In the nineteenth century, medicine in the large cities of Russia was equal to that in Europe, and in smaller towns (and even rural areas after the territorial reform of 1864) a territorial (municipal) medical establishment began to develop, and with every passing year their numbers grew and covered more and more of the population.

The reputation of Russian doctors, especially practitioners (and particularly surgeons) and scientists during those times was very high. For instance, N.I. Pirogov became the founder of military field surgery as a separate area of medical studies. I.M. Sechenov became one of the leading world experts in the area of physiology. I.I. Mechnikov, the Nobel laureate, became the founder of studies in evolutionary embryology, comparative inflammation pathology, phagocytal immunity theory, phagocytella theory and scientific gerontology. Finally, I.P. Pavlov, also a Nobel laureate, was not only an internationally recognized authority in the area of physiology, but the creator of scientific studies on higher nervous system activity.

The Revolution slowed the development of medical science in Russia for some time, but it soon started to develop as before. At the same time, medicine became available to the mass market and became generally accessible, as the new state saw this as one of its main tasks. The number of hospitals and drugstores grew rapidly, but the majority of medicines were still prepared in drugstores. Nevertheless, a number of dangerous illnesses were soon conquered on the territory of the country, and vaccination of the newborn became universal.

In the second half of the twentieth century, Soviet medicine was among the best in the world, although in terms of the percentage of recoveries it fell behind some countries, including the USA. Nevertheless, the system of high-quality, generally accessible medical help was established, making it possible to achieve world standards in life expectancy. The situation in the pharmaceutical field was worse, as the mass importation of drugs was impossible, which made it necessary to create domestic analogues with poorer characteristics as a rule.

 
 

Report inaccuracy

Здравоохранение является одной из составляющих частей функционирования российского государства, однако сравнительно недооцененной в финансовом отношении. В настоящее время капитализированы главным образом фармацевтическое производство, аптечный бизнес, а также отдельные направления в лечебной медицине (стоматология, акушерство и гинекология, пластическая хирургия и ряд других), однако роль государства в данной сфере все же остается ведущей.

Доля полностью частных клиник составляет порядка 5 % от общего количества, а частные службы неотложной помощи и работающие на массовый рынок медицинские лаборатории есть практически только в крупнейших городах и их спутниках. В общей сложности, в медицине и фармацевтике трудятся порядка 15 % работающего населения (свыше 4,5 млн чел. по данным на 2011 год).

Историческая справка

Историю российской медицины можно отсчитывать только с XVIIвека, поскольку в Московском государстве она как системное явление до того отсутствовала. В крупных городах были лекари, зачастую иностранцы, и иностранные же аптеки, однако полноценная подготовка собственных врачей не велась. Массовая медицина полностью осуществлялась врачами-ремесленниками, то есть, по сути, врачами-самоучками, и зелейными лавками, прообразами аптек, где торговали лекарственными травами и их смесями. В конце XVIвека во всем немаленьком Новгороде было лишь шесть лекарей и один иностранный врач, а в Пскове, к примеру, лишь несколько травников.

Лишь в середине XVIIвека, в связи с многочисленными войнами и вызванной ими потребностью в настоящей медицине, возникает сперва Аптекарский приказ (централизованное ведомство, ведавшее всей медициной), а в 1654 году и Лекарская школа при нем, с весьма продвинутой для тех лет программой, включавшей и практический курс. В это же время правительство впервые посылает за границу молодых людей для учебы лекарскому делу.

В самом начале XVIIIвека, в первые годы правления Петра I, начинаются серьезные реформы медицины. Прежде всего, еще в 1701 году вышел царский указ о запрете окончательно деградировавших зелейных лавок и открытии современных аптек. В 1706 году при Главном московском госпитале была учреждена школа для подготовки отечественных лекарей и аптекарей для нужд русской армии. В 1719 году в Санкт-Петербурге появился первый Аптекарский сад, а всего год спустя — и первое в России предприятие по выпуску медицинских препаратов. С 1720 года можно отсчитывать историю российского фармацевтического производства.

Длительное время в России существовали лишь государственные аптеки, но в 1726 году было дано разрешение на открытие частных аптек, и к началу XIXвека аптечная сеть охватила практически всю страну. В 1789 году был разработан особый Аптекарский устав, ставший главным регламентирующим документом для всех фармацевтов, который вводил прогрессивные правила функционирования аптек, приготовления и хранения лекарств, а также их отпуска.

Уже к началу XIXвека российское медицинское образование, по-настоящему возникшее лишь менее века назад, окрепло настолько, что в нем сформировалась не только педагогическая, но и научная школа. На рубеже XVIII—XIXвеков возникают первые национальные научные работы в области медицины и фармацевтики, и с каждым годом их количество возрастает. Особенно много работ было посвящено изучению лекарственных растений и способам приготовления их них лекарств.

В XIXвеке медицина в крупных городах России ни в чем не уступала европейской, а в менее крупных городах и даже в сельской местности после земской реформы 1864 года стали массово возникать земские (муниципальные) медицинские учреждения, которых с каждым годом становилось все больше и которые охватывали все больше населения.

Авторитет российских врачей, особенно практиков (прежде всего хирургов), а также ученых тех лет, был очень высок. В частности, Н. И. Пирогов стал основоположником военно-полевой хирургии как самостоятельного направления медицинской науки; И. М. Сеченов был одним из крупнейших мировых специалистов в области физиологии; И. И. Мечников, нобелевский лауреат, стал основоположником эволюционной эмбриологии, сравнительной патологии воспаления, фагоцитарной теории иммунитета, теории фагоцителлы, научной геронтологии; а И. П. Павлов, также нобелевский лауреат, был не только всемирно признанным авторитетом в области физиологии, но и создателем науки о высшей нервной деятельности.

Революция на некоторое время затормозила развитие медицинской науки в России, однако та вскоре вновь набрала прежние обороты. Одновременно с этим медицина становится по-настоящему массовой и общедоступной, поскольку новое государство видит в этом одну из важнейших задач. Количество больниц и аптек стремительно растет, однако большая часть лекарств по-прежнему производится непосредственно в аптеках. Тем не менее, на территории страны вскоре удается полностью победить ряд опасных болезней, а вакцинация новорожденных становится всеобщей.

Во второй половине XXвека советская медицина являлась одной из лучших в мире, хотя и уступала по проценту излечения больных ряду стран, включая США. Тем не менее, была создана система качественной общедоступной врачебной помощи, позволившей довести среднюю продолжительность жизни до мировых стандартов. Ситуация в фармацевтической промышленности была хуже, поскольку не было возможности массово импортировать лекарства, что вынуждало создавать свои аналоги с, как правило, худшими характеристиками.

 
 

Сообщить о недостоверности данных