Production of building and finishing materials is a highly relevant sector of the present-day Russian economy because of the recent boost to residential development and construction of offices, storage facilities, roads, etc., provoke a high demand for such products. As a result Russian production of building and finishing materials is growing steadily..

In 2012, the most significant output growth was reported in the production of non-metallic materials such as gravel, crushed aggregate and sand, which was up nearly 17% as regard to the year 2011 or 412.5 million m3. The growth of the production of thermal insulation materials made from fibreglass and mineral fibre materials makes 10.4%. The production of the concrete increased to 9.6%. The cement sector saw almost the same progress with 9.5%.

This industry is generally on an upswing remaining very attractive in terms of investment because the production potential is yet not mainly fulfilled.

Historical Background

There was no such thing as a market of building and finishing materials in Russia for a long time. Timber, often not even thoroughly surfaced, was practically the only material used in construction. Few building and finishing materials like mineral paints or fastening parts were homemade. The demand for such materials as bricks, glass, sand, gravel, and paint grew in the XVIII century as economy was blooming and wealthy people were adopting the European lifestyle. The materials were partly imported and partly produced by Russian first manufactories and industrial enterprises.

The production of building and finishing materials was only taken to a new level as an industry in the middle of the XIX century, when the stone construction became dominant. Brick factories mushroomed up numerously all over the European part of the Russian Empire. The first cement factory was opened in 1839 in St. Petersburg. By 1913, the cement output across the country reached 1.78 million tonnes. Ceramic tiles, glass, metal ware, concrete, quarry sand, gravel, clay and other materials were produced. This industry in Russia was quite comparable scale-wise with those outside the country being just a little behind the world’s leading economies.

A huge boost of the production of building and finishing materials was natural in the first years of Soviet Russia because the country needed a recovery after World War I and then the civil war when a vast number of buildings needed to be rebuilt or renovated. Then, in the second half of the 1920s, when industrial construction was developing even in all regions of the country, the demand for building and finishing materials increased manifold. Industrial giants, such as Donbas, Magnitogorsk Industrial Complex, Komsomolsk-on-Amur and many others, required immense amounts of material.

New cement plants were built (Podgorensky, Katavsky, Kuvasaisky among them), that made it possible to increase the cement output up to 5.77 million tonnes by 1940. The production of other building materials, such as bricks, concrete, construction bitumen, glass, etc. was increasing proportionally. The industry suffered heavy losses in the Great Patriotic War of 1941-1945 when a great part of facilities were left in the zones of occupation or military operations.

In the post-war period, when almost one third of the country had to be rebuilt, production of building and finishing materials was a top priority. The production rates skyrocketed even in comparison with pre-war figures. New facilities, such as Pikalevo, Belgorod, Nikolayev, Chimkent, Ulyanovsk, Achinsk, Stary Oskol and Kamenets-Podolsky cement plants, were put into operation in the following decades. Large-scale production of precast concrete units, which were most popular in residential and industrial construction, was set up. In 1950, the Soviet Union manufactured 1.3 million m3 of precast concrete panels and blocks. In 1960, the output reached 30.2 million m3, 84.6 million in 1970, 122 million in 1980, and 151.0 million in 1985.

 
 

Report inaccuracy

Производство строительных и отделочных материалов в современных условиях является весьма актуальной для России отраслью экономики, поскольку бум жилищного строительства, а также активное возведение офисных и складских помещений, дорог и многого другого вызывают высокий спрос наних. В результате производство строительных и отделочных материалов в России неуклонно растет.

В 2012 году наибольший рост был зафиксирован в производстве нерудных материалов, таких как гравий, щебень и песок: почти на 17 % выше относительно показателей 2011 года, или же 412,5 млнм3. Рост производства теплоизоляционных материалов (из стекловолокна и минеральных волокнистых материалов) составил 10,4 %. Производство железобетона выросло на 9,6 %. Примерно такой же прирост отмечен в сегменте цементной промышленности — 9,5 %.

В целом данная отрасль показывает высокие темпы роста и является привлекательной с точки зрения инвестиций, поскольку потенциал производства еще во многом не реализован.

Историческая справка

Длительное время рынок строительных и отделочных материалов в России попросту не существовал, так как практически единственным строительным материалом было дерево, зачастую почти не обработанное. Выпуск минимального количества строительных и отделочных материалов — минеральных красок, крепежа и тому подобного — осуществлялся кустарным способом. В XVIIIвеке, в связи с общим развитием экономики и переходом обеспеченных слоев населения к европейскому образу жизни, возросла потребность в таких материалах, как кирпич, стекло, песок, щебень, краски. Частично они импортировались, а частично производились на первых российских мануфактурах и промышленных разработках.

Лишь в середине XIX века, когда каменное строительство стало откровенно доминирующим, началось и настоящее развитие отрасли строительных и отделочных материалов. Кирпичные заводы возникали в большом количестве по всей европейской части Российской империи, в 1839 году в Санкт-Петербурге был построен первый цементный завод. К 1913 году выпуск цемента в нашей стране составлял 1,78 млн т. Производились керамическая отделочная плитка, стекло, металлоконструкции, бетон, разрабатывались карьеры песка, щебня, глины и других материалов. В целом эта отрасль экономики в России находилась на мировом уровне, хотя и несколько уступала по объемам ведущим экономикам мира.

Уже в первые годы советской власти началось активное развитие производства строительных и отделочных материалов, поскольку стране требовалось восстановить разрушенное Первой мировой, а затем и гражданской войной хозяйство, а это означало и ремонт либо отстройку заново множества зданий. Затем, во второй половине 1920-х годов, с началом активного промышленного строительства в самых разных регионах страны, потребность в строительных материалах возросла многократно. Промышленные гиганты, такие как Донбасс, Магнитогорский комбинат, Комсомольск-на-Амуре и многие другие, требовали огромного количества материалов.

Были построены новые цементные заводы (Подгоренский, Катавский, Кувасайский и прочие), что к 1940 году позволило довести объемы выпуска цемента до 5,77 млн т. Соразмерно развивалось и производство других строительных материалов, таких как кирпич, бетон, строительный битум, стекло и многое другое. С началом Великой Отечественной войны производственный комплекс понес тяжелые потери, и на отрасли строительных материалов это сказалось очень сильно, поскольку большая часть заводов оказалась в зоне оккупации или военных действий.

В послевоенный период, когда восстанавливать пришлось практически треть страны, производство строительных и отделочных материалов было первоочередной государственной задачей. Это привело к резкому повышению объемов производства, в сравнении даже с предвоенными показателями. В последующие десятилетия были введены в строй новые предприятия — например, Пикалевский, Белгородский, Николаевский, Чимкентский, Ульяновский, Ачинский, Старооскольский и Каменец-Подольский цементные заводы, — а также налажен выпуск сборных железобетонных конструкций, ставших основой жилищного и части промышленного строительства. Если в 1950 году в СССР было изготовлено 1,3 млнм3 сборного железобетона в виде панелей и блоков, то в 1960 году— 30,2 млн м3, в 1970 году— 84,6 млн м3, в 1980 году— 122 млн м3, а в 1985 году— 151,0 млн м3.

 
 

Сообщить о недостоверности данных