The hospitality and hotel industries cannot be consideredflagship sectors of the Russian economy. Indeed, their revenue statistics are not particularly impressive compared to other industries. However, this can be treated as an advantage, because there is hardly any other industry with such development potential. Overall, some 1.5 million people are employed in the hospitality industry, which accounts for approximately 3% of GDP. Apparently, there is room for increasing both figures.

Russia spans a range of climatic zones, from the icy deserts of the Arctic to subtropical beaches. With an area of 17.1 million square kilometres, Russia has an incredible number of natural, historical and cultural sites that can become exciting travel destinations and generate significant profits if the right approach is taken. With a population of 143 million, Russia also has enormous domestic tourism potential.

Historical Background

Organized tourism dates from as late as the nineteenth century, when transportation services became broadly available and relatively cheap. However, even prior to this, there was a need for temporary accommodations. Naturally, there were hotels in Russia. The first inns appeared in the twelfth to thirteenth centuries and looked exactly the same as their European counterparts — travellers were offered meals and beds, and their horses were provided with shelter. Inns of this kind remained until the second half of the fifteenth century.

Because the country had expanded very significantly by that time, a network of postal houses with inns was created in order to ensure postal communication with distant portions of the country. A person could stay overnight and even change his horse, provided he was on a special mission and had a travel voucher.

The merchant court («gostiny dvor») was a peculiar type of hotel combing the services of a guesthouse and a warehouse, in which travelling merchants could leave their goods and then wholesale them. The warehousing of commodities outside of merchant courts was not allowed. Merchant courts appeared as early as the twelfth century and retained their original form until the seventeenth century, when merchants were allowed to keep their goods wherever they wanted. Even though they were not as popular as before, such hotel facilities remained until the final days of the Russian Empire.

The first real hotels opened in Russia only as late as the eighteenth century. These were mostly designed for well-to-do noblemen, while merchants still preferred guesthouses and courts. The development of railway transportation provided a boost to the hotel industry. Postal stations fell into decay, because there was no need for covering enormous distances on horseback, especially in Central Russia. Hotels flourished — from expensive luxury facilities to dosshouses.

There were only a few hotels in St. Petersburg at the beginning of the nineteenth century, but a hundred years later, there were more than three hundred. Many hotels were built at the turn of the twentieth century, including some remarkable examples of architecture and comfort, such as the National Hotel and the Metropol in Moscow, and the Astoria in St. Petersburg. All in all, there were more than 5,000 hotels in Russia by 1910.

The hotel business was virtually destroyed during the few years following the 1917 Revolution. Hotel buildings were expropriated and given to various state institutions. In addition, an important prerequisite for the development of hotels was lost, as people were discouraged from travelling between various regions of the country. Nevertheless, by the middle of the 1920s (the NEP period), hotels reappeared in almost every town, although the quality was far behind that of hotels operating before the Revolution.

In 1934, a standard charter for a hotel trust was developed, and for five decades to come, Soviet hotels turned into spiritless accommodation machines offering the standard low-quality service package to the average citizen. There were just a few hotels for foreigners or high-ranking party officials that were of a markedly higher level of quality. Hotels were built until the last years of the USSR, but there was always a shortage of rooms, because foreign trips were almost impossible for Soviet citizens and hotels were occupied by domestic tourists. Moreover, the capacity of hotels was comparatively low. There were 5,000 hotels in Russia in 1910, and 70 years later, there were only 7,000, with a combined capacity of only 700,000guests. Effortswere made to respond to the shortage of rooms by building giant hotels, such as the Cosmos (capable of accommodating 3,600 guests), the Rossiya (5,300) and the Izmailovo (10,000). Nevertheless, the shortage remained through the final years of Soviet power.

 
 

Report inaccuracy

Индустрию гостеприимства и гостиничное дело, пожалуй, нельзя отнести к флагманам российской экономики. Они действительно занимают довольно скромное место на фоне других отраслей,однако в этом есть и плюс — едва ли найдетсяеще отрасль с таким потенциалом развития. В общей сложности в индустрии гостеприимства сегодня занято порядка 1,5 млн чел., а ее доля в ВВП составляет около 3 %. Соответственно, возможно существенное увеличение этих показателей.

Россия расположена во всех климатических поясах, от ледяных пустынь Арктики до пальм субтропиков. На 17,1 млн кв. км располагается множество природных и историко-культурных достопримечательностей, которые при правильном подходе способны приносить большую прибыль от туризма, как внутригосударственного, ведь в стране проживает 143 млн чел., так и международного.

Историческая справка

Организованный туризм — явление XIXвека, когда средства транспорта стали массовыми и сравнительно недорогими. Однако и до того времени потребность в гостиницах уже существовала в том или ином виде. Разумеется, были гостиницы и в России. Первые постоялые дворы появились примерно в XII–XIII веках, и они ничем не отличались от аналогичных мест в Европе — здесь путники могли получить еду и крышу над головой, а заодно дать отдых и защиту лошадям.Примерно в таком виде постоялые дворы просуществовали до второй половины XVвека.

Именно тогда, из-за серьезно разросшихся размеров страны и необходимости обеспечить почтовое и официальное сообщение между ее отдаленными частями, возникла система почтовых станций, при которых также были постоялые дворы. На почтовых станциях уже можно было не просто дать отдохнуть лошадям, но при необходимости и сменить их, если есть срочное поручение и специальное разрешение — подорожная.

Другим вариантом гостиниц были гостиные дворы, нечто среднее между постоялым двором и складом, где купцы оставляли свой товар и совершали оптовые сделки, поскольку складировать товар вне гостиных дворов не разрешалось. Возникнув в XIIвеке, гостиные дворы в своем изначальном варианте просуществовали до XVIIвека, когда было разрешено складировать товары по своему усмотрению, но в том или ином виде они сохранились вплоть до конца Российской империи.

Первые настоящие гостиницы открываются в России лишь в XVIIIвеке, причем их количество поначалу невелико, а рассчитаны они на обеспеченную публику из дворян, купцы же по-прежнему пользуются постоялыми или гостиными дворами. Еще большее распространение гостиницы получили с развитием железнодорожного транспорта, когда необходимость в почтовых станциях практически отпала, а в Центральной России существенно сократилось и количество перемещающихся на большое расстояние на лошадях. В результате расцвели гостиницы, самые разные: от дорогих и фешенебельных до практически ночлежек.

Если в начале XIXвека в Санкт-Петербурге было всего несколько гостиниц, то к концу того же века их насчитывалось уже более трехсот. В конце XIX—начале XXвека строится многоотелей, которые и сегодня считаются выдающимися образцами архитектуры и комфорта для постояльцев. Это, например, «Националь» и «Метрополь» в Москве или «Астория» в Санкт-Петербурге. Всего же к 1910 году в России насчитывалось более пяти тысяч гостиниц.

Первые годы после революции фактически уничтожили гостиничное дело: во-первых, здания гостиниц были отобраны у владельцев и переданы различным учреждениям, а во-вторых, исчезла сама основа свободных и массовых поездок между разными частями страны. Впрочем, уже в середине 1920-х годов, в расцвет НЭПа, в каждом городе вновь появились гостиницы, хотя им и было далеко даже до среднего уровня дореволюционных отелей.

В 1934 году был разработан типовой устав гостиничного треста, и на следующие полвека советские гостиницы превратились в конвейеры по стандартному типовому обслуживанию условного населения. Лишь единицы их, предназначенные для иностранцев или высокопоставленных партийных работников, заметно отличались в лучшую сторону.

Активное строительство гостиниц в СССР продолжалось до последних лет его существования, однако их всегда не хватало просто потому, что выезд на отдых за границу был крайне ограничен, а значит, всю нагрузку принимал на себя внутригосударственный туризм. Кроме того, общий номерной фонд был сравнительно небольшим: если в 1910 году в Российской империи было 5 000 гостиниц, то к 1980 году в СССР их было лишь на 2 000 больше, и все вместе одновременно они могли принять не более 700 тыс. чел.

При этом проблему с нехваткой номеров пытались решать гигантоманией, строя огромные гостиничные комплексы, такие как «Космос» (3 600 мест), «Россия» (5 300 мест), «Измайлово» (10 000 мест) и другие. Тем не менее, до самого конца советской власти дефицит гостиничных номеров сохранялся.

 
 

Сообщить о недостоверности данных